The Quest for Purpose

I started the post below almost four years ago (January 30, 2011 to be exact), and had it sitting unfinished in my drafts.  Today, I will post it because I believe in the recognition of growth and I find myself more motivated and inspired on this journey.  I am still searching though.  Much of my life’s journey has been about figuring out this purpose, and in the interim, I have accomplished much, but there’s still an opening…

Here goes. The old post.

THE QUEST FOR PURPOSE

Isn’t that what it’s all about? Finding and fulfilling our life’s purpose.  For some, it’s simple. It’s as if they were truly born to do one thing. Singers feel as if they were born to sing. And without the gift of song, they’d be unable to breathe. Some are born scientists.

Then there are the rest of us?

People ponder the question in many ways. And oftentimes, the question is tied to money:

“What would you do if money were no object?”

“What am I called to do?”

“Do what you love, and the money will come.”

Once you find that “thing,” your “purpose,” how do you know that you are doing what you are called to do? Will you really be fulfilled

every.    single.    second…?

Well, that’s unlikely.

Leave a Reply

