Weekly Writing Workshop and Synchronicity

Last night, I attended my weekly writer’s workshop which I’ve been attending for about three months now.  In a post soon to come, I will go into more detail about the journey toward spiritual and emotional growth that I’ve been on this year (and link it to this post if I can figure out how).  I was blown away by the amount of commonalilty that I recognize between church on Sunday morning and the writing workshop.  We literally covered the same topic of discovering our unique purpose and both even mentioned going to Toastmasters to strengthen our speaking/presenting skills.  I can honestly say that Toastmasters rarely comes up in any conversation with me, so for it to come up two times in one day in settings that have some significant differences feels more like a mandate than a sign.

The exercise that we focused on in the writing workshop was designed to uncover our purpose and to develop an elevator speech that we can use to tell more about ourselves.  It was based on answering the following five simple questions:

  1. Who are you?
  2. What do you do?
  3. Who do you do it for?
  4. What do those people want or need?
  5. What do you get out of it?

We then repeated the question “What do you do?” In this instance, we used the answer to question #5 as the answer.  This is the revelation of our purpose (at least in the sense of that definition of the identity that was given in #2.

I have played around with it and answered two different ways (one as a “child of God” and the other as an “Accountant”).  My goal is to compare and look for similarities of purpose as well as to tap into that which evokes a more personal and visceral response deep within myself.

The journey continues, but this feels like a great start.

Leave a Reply

